Montreal Series: Malting Silos Pt.1

Warehouse LQWarehouse Colour LQ-3Warehouse Colour LQ-2Warehouse LQ-2

This week I took a bike ride down to the Canada Malting Silos, an abandoned warehouse in the district of St. Henri just down the street from where I live. I’ve seen this building several times before but this is the first time I actually went up close. The silos are a protected landmark of the city of Montreal but severe damage and vandalism makes itΒ unrepairable. Built in 1904 and abandoned since 1989, the silos are an absolutely extraordinary structure. The sheer size of it is just breath taking. Standing at the foot of this giant, I couldn’t help but imagine what it must have looked like at the height of it’s operation. I took hundreds of images and will be posting more in the coming weeks as I slowly get through them.
In the meantime, here are a few wide-angle images from front side of the building. I can’t decide whether I prefer the black and white images or the colour versions. The monochromeΒ pictures are eerie and powerful, while the colour pictures highlight the rust, graffiti and decay that’s taken it’s toll over the decades.

3 Replies to “Montreal Series: Malting Silos Pt.1”

Leave a Reply

