Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

Threshold

This week’s challenge is threshold. I chose this picture I took of the Lachine Canal’s St-Gabriel Locks in Montreal. To me, this represents threshold for a few reasons. I took it late in winter, at the threshold of spring. You can see the ice is thin and somewhat translucent, indicating it is on the verge of melting. The lock doors, too, are a threshold in the literal sense of the word.
I have to say this is one of my favourite images.Ā I love the colours and the details in the wood of the lock doors. I also really like how with no indicator of scale, these doors appear to be absolutely massive. They remind me of something out of Lord of the Rings.

3 Replies to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold”

  1. The doors do look massive. The ice at the bottom looks like glue glueing the doors shut. But you’re right – looking closely the ice looks thin and translucent and it makes me wonder what we will see behind those doors when the ice melts and lets the doors sweep open šŸ™‚

    1. Thanks for your comment šŸ™‚ Maybe thin wasn’t the right description but the ice looked soft and in the process of melting. Perhaps your sense of the ice being glue-like comes from the distorted perspective of scale. While the doors look huge, they are only about 10 feet tall. 1

      1. Haha, Now that you mention it, 10 feet isn’t too tall (about metres). No way would I have described the ice looking as soft. But then again, it’s all about perspective. Great shot šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

