Ghostly Picture in Black and White

Ghostly

This is a really cool, really creepy picture I took just the other day and it happened almost completely by accident. My girlfriend and I went out for a walk and she wanted her picture taken in front of this nice arching doorway.Β It was a beautiful day with clear skies so I had my polarizing filter on to help reduce glare but theΒ shot, however, was directly into the sun so I took a few pictures before she posed to see how the pictures would turn out. There was a large amount of glare from the sunlight and I was not pleased with the results. When I got home and looked at the pictures on my computer however, I immediately saw the potential this image had. I converted it to black and white and added some grain to make it look old and voila!
Thankfully I hadn’t deleted the picture after initially dismissing it. I guess the lesson here is not to review your pictures in the field, and certainly never delete them if you aren’t happy with them on your camera’s display screen because you may be missing some details that you can only notice on a larger screen. Allowing some time to pass before taking a second look also allows you to see the image with different and more objective perspective.

4 Replies to “Ghostly Picture in Black and White”

    1. Thank you Laura! I quite enjoy participating in the challenge and it seems to be growing in popularity every week. As long as you and Leanne keep it going I’ll keep submitting pictures!

  1. Ted,I’ve learned to always walk away from a photo I’ve shot or just processed. Take a break, then come back to it. I’ve saved so many photos that way. I love what I’ve seen of your work and, hopefully, I can learn something by following you! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

